It really seems that there is a ton of stuff to wade through for new homeschooling families who want to comply with the law making it simply frustrating trying to track down what is legal.  Thanks to a recent forum I attended I have deleted my previous article about the official Missouri school year due to conflicting advice/opinions.  HSLDA interprets that Missouri homeschooling families can set their year term as long as it occurs in a twelve month period.  Apparently, there is a county where this is true in Missouri. This ruling I believe occured in 1999.

HOWEVER…

That being said, OFFICIAL Missouri School Year, according to Missouri government law as of August 28, 2008 is from July 1 of said year to June 30 of the following year.  The official term for the current school year would then be July 1, 2008 – June 30, 2009.  (see  section . 4. on the link above)  I think I would be inclined to go with what is “on the books.”

If you have any questions than call your local representative and have them track down the information for you.

