Teaching writing can be a very daunting task, especially for those who feel that they are unable to write very well themselves. On the other hand are those of us that write naturally and have a difficult time passing the writing baton off to our children because we are unable to explain this natural instinct in teaching terms. “You have to feel it.  Those words just bursting to get out of you? Can’t you feel it? What do you mean no?!” Then there is the question of – if they are writing – how do we grade it?? What do we compare it with?  In quiet frustration we sweep the work of writing under the rug of our homeschooling inadequacy.

At least, that is how I felt until I found Teaching Writing: Structure and Style by The Institute  for Excellence in Writing. While I admit it is a pretty heavy item on the budget for one subject it is a resource that can be used over and over again through out your homeschooling years or easily shared with other homeschooling families. It is a resource that is worth the money.  The Institute for Excellence in Writing gives a struggling teacher  the keys to the door of teaching writing. It comes with a syllabus and instructional dvds for the teacher. However, I ended up watching the seminars with my children who enjoyed them just as much as I did and commented on the excellent teaching by Andrew Pudewa.

It did not magically give my children a love for writing overnight  but it did give them the knowledge of where to begin when they do instead of staring at a blank sheet of paper trying to come up  with something “original.” It turned the writing hour from “I can’t” to “I shall try.” In the weeks to come I am confidant it will turn “I shall try” into “Yes, I can.”

 

 

