It is probably pretty obvious from posts over the years that I’m a huge fan of the Math U See curriculum. I have successfully brought two children through it. However, any seasoned homeschooler can tell you that not all children learn the same and it turned out that Math U See was lacking in a big way for one of my children who is a struggling learner. It was difficult for him to understand and express the simple Math U See layout and I began to see that he needed to be shown not only one way to do addition and subtraction but multiple ways so that one of them might click.

Back to the homeschool proverbial chalk board to search for a needle in a haystack. I was so thankful for Cathy Duffy’s website because you can search almost any curriculum and find the pros and cons!  The “needle” turned out to be easier to find because of Cathy Duffy’s reviews. I’m grateful for others who have gone before us and leave good advice and guidance for the rest of us on the path to educate our children at home.

